Thursday, June 18, 2015

38th Gawad Urian - Winners List

Veteran indie filmmaker Lav Diaz has added more achievements in his career by collecting four major awards including Best Picture, Best Screenplay, Best Editing, and Best Director for his 2014 indie drama, “Mula Sa Kung Ano Ang Noon” at the 38th Gawad Urian which aired live on Cinema One last Tuesday night (June 16).

Lav Diaz

Although absent at the awards night, Lav sent a representative to thank the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP) for recognizing Lav’s storytelling talent.

Another standout of the night was superstar Nora Aunor, who received her Natatanging Gawad Urian award for her notable accomplishments in Philippine cinema.

Nora kept her tears at bay on stage as she thanked everyone who helped harness her talent.

“Thank you so much to everyone I have worked with all these years. I promise that I will do even better at my craft because of this recognition,” she said.

She also expressed her gratitude to her loyal fans who flocked in full force to the venue saying that if until now her fans still love her, she loves them even more.

Prior to her Natatanging Gawad Urian award, Nora has reaped 20 nominations in the Gawad Urian and seven Best Actress awards.

Meanwhile, first time winners dominated the acting categories. Eula Valdez and Martin del Rosario were named Best Actress and Best Supporting Actor for “Dagitab,” respectively. Allen Dizon and Gladys Reyes meanwhile were hailed Best Actor and Best Supporting Actress for “Magkakabaung.”

The 38th Gawad Urian was also star-studded. Some of the most talented artists in Philippine cinema such as Brilliante Mendoza, Nonie Buencamino, Shamaine Buencamino, Nova Villa, Angel Aquino, Angeli Bayani, Paulo Avelino, Jolina Magdangal, Angelica Panganiban, Sandino Martin, Martin Del Rosario, Alex Medina, Jed Madela, Kyla, Darren Espanto, and Gwyneth Dorado witnessed the night’s shining moments.

“Asia’s Got Talent” grand champion El Gamma Penumbra also wowed the crowd with their special opening number that they dedicated to Philippine Cinema.

The Gawad Urian Awards is the most esteemed film awards in the Philiippines. The nominees and the winners are chosen by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP) who are composed of reputable pillars in Philippine cinema.

The MPP members are Rolando Tolentino, Grace Javier Alfonso, Butch Francisco, Mario Hernando, Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Rapatan, Benilda Santos, Dr. Nicanor Tiongson, Tito Genova Valiente and Lito Zulueta.

The following are the winners for the 38th Gawad Urian:

Best Picture – Lav Diaz, Mula Sa Kung Ano ang Noon

Best Director – Lav Diaz, Mula Sa Kung Ano ang Noon

Best Screenplay – Lav Diaz, Mula Sa Kung Ano ang Noon

Best Actress- Eula Valdez, Dagitab

Best Actor – Allen Dizon, Magkakabaung

Best Supporting Actress –  Gladys Reyes, Magkakabaung

Best Supporting Actor – Martin del Rosario, Dagitab

Best Cinematography – Neil Daza, Bwaya

Best Editing – Lav Diaz, Mula Sa Kung Ano ang Noon

Best Production Design – Popo Diaz, Dementia

Best Music – Erwin Fajardo, Bwaya

Best Sound – Corinne De San Jose, Violator

Best Documentary – Walang Rape sa Bontok

Best Short Film – Kinabukasan by Adolf Alix Jr.

The 38th Gawad Urian replays on Cinema One will be on June 20 at 7PM, June 24 at 7PM, and June 28 at 2PM.

For more information, visit Cinema One’s official Facebook page ( and the official website of the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (

For more television, movie, and music updates, like/follow The Ultimate Fan on Facebook and Twitter.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright 2009 The Ultimate Fan.
Powered by Blogger Blogger Templates created by Deluxe Templates. Premium Wordpress Themes | Premium Wordpress Themes | Free Icons | wordpress theme
Wordpress Themes. Blogger Templates by Blogger Templates and Blogger Templates