Friday, July 3, 2015

Earthquake hits Surigao del Norte (Jul 3, 2015)

A magnitude 6.1 earthquake struck 47 km northeast of Burgos, Surigao del Norte on Friday, July 3, 2015.

Surigao del Norte earthquake Jul 3 2015

According to Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (PHIVOLCS), the earthquake was recorded at exactly 2:43 PM.

It was tectonic in origin and had a depth of 26 km.

The earthquake was felt in the following areas:

Intensity V - Surigao City; General Luna & Bucas Grande, Surigao del Norte; Talacogon, Agusan del Sur; and Carrascal, Surigao del Sur.

Intensity IV - Dinagat Island and Butuan City.

Intensity III - Tandag, Surigao del Sur; Balanginga & Guiuan, Eastern Samar; San Juan, Hinunangan & St. Bernard, Southern Leyte; Tacloban City, Palo & Dulag, Leyte; Lapulapu City; Consolacion, Cebu; Gingoog, Misamis, Oriental; and Davao City.

Intensity II - Bislig & Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur; Mambajao, Camiguin; and Cagayan de Oro City.

Intensity I - Polangco, Zamboanga del Norte and Dipolog City.

According to the Phivolcs bulletin, damage and aftershocks are expected.

For more updates, follow The Ultimate Fan on Facebook and Twitter.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright 2009 The Ultimate Fan.
Powered by Blogger Blogger Templates created by Deluxe Templates. Premium Wordpress Themes | Premium Wordpress Themes | Free Icons | wordpress theme
Wordpress Themes. Blogger Templates by Blogger Templates and Blogger Templates